top of page

What am I doing with my life? Waiting tables at the beach


It’s certainly fun to reminisce about my long run as a blogger, critic, writer, and editorial teammate – I had a really good run there for a minute. But times are changing. Newspapers evolve and print culture seems maybe a little doomed. It is with no joy that I observe the trends at the Inquirer of buyouts and layoffs (although it was a little joyous to watch Inga’s comments at Stu’s goodbye party). It’s rare for local media outlets to have a robust freelance budget and even if they did, it probably wouldn’t be enough to make a full-time freelancing go at it. The successful freelancers I know are going national. Like Drew Lazor for Punch, Adam Erace writing a cookbook with Nicholas Elmi, or Allie Volpe for the New York Times.

For a Journalism school kid, I definitely wondered ‘What next?’ PR and Communications were dirty words on the editorial side, but I’ve certainly come around since 2006-2007. I watched with excitement and wonder when my colleague Randy LoBasso left Philly Weekly and took up with the Bicycle Coalition of Greater Philadelphia. I knew it was a great fit and a smart career transition back in 2014 and I’d secretly hoped to emulate it myself. I actually did just that when the South Philly Review eliminated my staff writer position in the summer of 2016 – I turned around and got a job at the Gershman Y as their Director of PR and Marketing. It seemed like a thrilling pivot until they downsized, changed their mission, and eliminated my position, too.

In the nearly two years I was at the Y (and the Philadelphia Jewish Film Festival), I felt like I got a crash-course in non-profits. In many terms: how they’re run; how they’re funded; how they stay alive; how they network with other non-profits; how they program; how they staff; and how, to be honest, some of them are not so healthy. I also took a course in InDesign at U Arts as a professional development effort, attended a social media advertising workshop with ChatterBlast, and attended an arts conference centered on ticketing and development at NYU.

I also applied to dozens of jobs while I was at the Y, sensing imminent doom there, and interviewed constantly. It is a challenge of decorum to apply for and interview with competitors and other non-profits while working a full-time job. I made up some dentist appointments, sorry Maxine. I fell short at the Mazzoni Center, Mural Arts, Pew, Settlement Music School, the Mutter Museum, Arden Theater Company, the list goes on. So when I was eligible for some unemployment, I took it. And I read some books and ran many miles and listened to hours of podcasts. It was satisfying until it wasn’t.

Last summer, my boyfriend was General Managing a thriving Jersey shore restaurant in Avalon, NJ. A few distinct hiccups arose in the first couple months and I would get phone calls of distress, where I would try to encourage him and soothe his nerves. But in August, it became clear that I could be a big help by coming down and backserving. I would make some money, be at the beach, be with my man, and maybe apply to some jobs, too. Backserving work is humbling. At 35, I was watering tables, bringing them bread, clearing plates, scrubbing toilets, dragging out garbage and linens, sweeping and mopping every day, and sweating constantly. It’s hard work and I did a good job.

The owner of the company was in the restaurant several times and I got to know him and his family a little bit. Within weeks he’d pegged me as a leader in the company and made it clear that he wanted me to be a manager at Trattoria Carina in Fitler Square. I relinquished the unemployment run and decided to get back into a full-time restaurant gig. 2019 marks what could probably be 20 years in and out of restaurants.

I feel like my Carina tenure was a smashing success. The little corner trattoria took off and it was absolutely wonderful to watch. As an all-positions player on that team, as a server, an expo, a host, or even a press agent, we saw the sales take off. The neighborhood responded. I became very familiar with families and kids. Sales quarters in 2018 versus 2019 were eye-popping – with the hard work of a few amazing back of house colleagues, we were on fire. But in the spring, I decided that I’d try to go back to The Diving Horse in Avalon and make some money and that’s exactly what I’m doing right now. Last night was an intense Friday service, welcoming and feeding nearly 250 guests in one night. Tonight will be no different.

It’s honest work. I’m not writing for my living but I’m reading novels on the beach and working 3PM to midnight most days, sometimes six shifts per week. I’m earning myself a little financial safety net and saving up for my future. But in the fall, I want to jump back into application mode. I’ve started already. It’s a luxury to approach this chapter of job hunting with a lighter heart – I may end up accumulating a pair of part-time jobs if the right matches are there. Or, if an organization will have me, I’ll gladly start at the bottom as a receptionist or assistant or coordinator or manager. I’m hopeful that I’ll find my way and optimistic that something great will materialize.


bottom of page